#6: Recipe of the Week

I have two new recipes again for this week – last night I made Red Chili Cheese Enchiladas, and Luscious Lemon Bars.

Red Chili Cheese Enchiladas

The first new recipe this week was Red Chili Cheese Enchiladas from the most recent Cooking Light magazine. However…I’m not going to post the recipe this time, because frankly, it wasn’t that good. Our meal turned out edible, and we won’t be throwing any away, but it’s definitely not a keeper. The sauce that goes with the enchiladas took a very long time to make, to the point of it being not worth it. It also required the blender and the food processor, which in my opinion is overkill on sauce. I washed my food processor three times last night for this meal, plus the blender once. On the flip side, the filling was too simple – just cottage cheese and Monterey Jack. Overall, I thought the recipe lacked texture and was too bland. This is the first time I’ve been disappointed with a Cooking Light recipe.

Luscious Lemon Bars

Who doesn’t love lemon bars? This was the first time I made them from scratch (and not from the box). They turned out really excellent, and much better than the box kind! I may make these again for the family holiday party at my house next weekend. My only criticism was that next time, I would kick up the amount of lemon called for the in recipe, it’s not quite strong enough for my taste as-written. Here’s the recipe from Southern Living magazine:

Luscious Lemon Bars

2 1/4 c all-purpose flour, divided
1/2 c powdered sugar
1 c butter, softened
4 large eggs
2 c sugar
1/3 c lemon juice (I’d personally recommend more)
1/2 tsp. baking powder
powdered sugar

1. Combine 2 c flour and 1/2 c powdered sugar
2. Cut butter into flour mixture with a pastry blender until crumbly. Firmly press mixture into a lightly greased 9 x 13 pan.
3. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes, or until lightly browned.
4. Whisk eggs in a large bowl; whisk in 2 c sugar and lemon juice. Combine remaining 1/4 c flour and baking powder; whisk into egg mixture. Pour batter over crust.
5. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until set. Let cool completely on a wire rack. Cut into bars, and sprinkle evenly with additional powdered sugar.

Prep 15 minutes, bake 50 minutes.
Yield 2 1/2 dozen

This is really turning into an important goal for me to make a new recipe each week. I’m finding it really fun trying out new things (even though sometimes it doesn’t work out well). For next week, I think I’m going to officially pick the cookbook I want to work through, because even at one new recipe a week, it’s going to take a long time to cook through an entire cookbook.

Leave a Reply

